Skip to main content
Enable Recite

Cheshire & Merseyside Social Work Teaching Partnership

The Cheshire and Merseyside Social Work Teaching Partnership (CMSWTP) includes:

8 Local Authorities – Cheshire West and Chester Council, Halton Borough Council, Knowsley Council, Liverpool City Council, St. Helens Council, Sefton Council, Warrington Council and Wirral Council.

4 Higher Education Institutes – Edge Hill University, Liverpool Hope University, Liverpool John Moores University and University of Chester.

3 Trusts – Cheshire and Wirral Partnership Trust, Merseycare NHS Foundation Trust and Wirral Community Health and Care NHS Foundation Trust.

1 Private Voluntary and Independent Agency – Person Shaped Support (PSS).




The vision of the Partnership is to improve the life chances of young children, young people, vulnerable adults and their families by improving the recruitment, retention and the training and development of social workers and their practice.

The Partnership will provide high quality training and education to enhance social work provision; improve the recruitment of social workers across the region; work collaboratively across the Higher Education Institutes, Local Authorities and Private, Voluntary and Independent placements to provide high quality placements and programmes; retain Social Workers across the CMSWTP who are resilient and highly effective; all learn together, learning from each other; improve research capacity and capability.

If you wish to be involved, please contact

Who to contact

Contact Name
Viviane Groom

Is this information correct?
Have your say