Skip to main content

Early Years Foundation Stage

How do we review children’s progress in the early years?

Most children from birth to five will progress through developmental stages at their own rates and in their own ways.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five years old. It measures progress children make across three prime areas:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development

The link below will take you to more information about the EYFS – Early Years Foundation Stage

All practitioners are now required to implement a progress check when a child is aged two years. This progress check was introduced to enable earlier identification of development needs so that any additional support can be put in place as early as possible. The progress check does not have to be carried out in a prescribed way but information about a child’s development must be provided to parents in the three prime areas.

Parents can feel confident that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education the same commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

The EYFS framework helps parents and practitioners to identify any additional needs a child may have and strengthen links with colleagues such as Health Visitors